Monday August 1, 2022

By ANNA MARIE MATEESCU GRAND ADVENTURE   What is the difference between Holland and the Netherlands? The “Netherlands” is a country that consists of 12 provinces, but many people use the term “Holland” when talking about the entirety of the Netherlands. The official name of the country is “the Kingdom of the Netherlands”, with King Willem-Allexander as the king of the nation. “Holland” actually only refers to the two provinces of Noord-Holland and Zuid-Holland. Amsterdam is the capital and most populous city of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Its status as the Dutch capital is mandated by the Constitution of the Netherlands, though it is not the seat of the Dutch government. That honor is given to the Hague, the seat of government of the Netherlands. It is famous for being the permanent home of the United Nations’ International Court of Justice and the Permanent Court of Arbitration. It is also a leading center for international conferences. The city is in the province of North Holland, in the west of the country. It comprises much of the northern part of the Randstad, one of the larger conurbations in Europe, with a population of approximately 7 million. Amsterdam’s name derives from Amstelredamme, indicative of the city’s origin as a dam on the river Amstel. Originating as a small fishing village in the late 12th century, Amsterdam became one of the most important ports in the world during the Dutch Golden Age (17th century) a result of its innovative developments in trade. During that time, the city was the leading center for finance and diamonds. In the 19th and 20th centuries the city expanded, and many new neighborhoods and suburbs were planned and built. The 17th century canals of Amsterdam and the 19–20th century Defence Line of...... Read more on Full Issue!

Don't Miss

Subscribe Now! Click Here « «